Apr 7, 2009

By-election Results : Barisan retains Batang Ai, Pakatan retains Bkt Gantang and Bukit Selambau

Bukit Gantang Result
Bkt Gantang: Official final results - Ousted Perak MB Nizar (PAS) wins with a 2,789 majority. PAS 21,860 votes vs BN 19,071 votes. Independent 62 votes.

Bukit Selambau Result
With all 22 polling boxes counted, Manikumar retained the seat for PKR by winning with a 2,396-vote majority, a slightly higher margin than in the 2008 general elections.

Manikumar is already celebrating at the official counting centre SM Teknik in Sungai Petani. Along with him is Kedah Menteri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak, PKR president Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and PKR vice-president Azmin Ali.

BN candidate S Ganesan is not in the hall. Other MIC leaders are also not present.

Batang Ai Result
Returning officer Nelson Mujah declares Malcom Mussem Lamoh of Barisan the official winner, to thunderous cheers.

Official final results - BN wins with 1,854 majority. BN 3,907 votes vs PKR 2,053. BN supporters cheering.

No comments: