Mar 12, 2008

PAS' Nizar is new Perak MB

PAS' Nizar has been selected as the new Perak MB, however the decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters. DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.

(NST) Pas' Nizar is new Perak MB, historic two deputy MBs post created
Perak DAP chief Ngeh Koo Ham, who is Sitiawan also assemblyman and Beruas MP, will be appointed as deputy Mentri Besar 1. It is believed that a Parti Keadilan Rakyat state assemblyman will be appointed as deputy Menteri Besar 11 and represent the Indian community. PKR has seven state assemblyman with Hutan Melintang assemblyman S. Kesavan being the only Indian who defeated National MIC Women deputy chief S. Thangasvari.

The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place at Istana Iskandariah In Kuala Kangsar at 4pm tomorrow.

Speaking to reporters at Istana Kinta here today, Mohammad Nizar pledged that the coalition government's commitment in serving the people and called upon supporters to accept the appointment wholeheartedly.

"The Regent of Perak Raja Dr Nazrin Shah has expressed his wish for a smooth transition of power and we hope the rakyat will ignore baseless rumours and allegations going around,” he said. "We will do our best in the interests of the people and hope to perform better than the previous government.”

Meanwhile, Ngeh said the name of the second deputy Menteri Besar would be announced after the swearing-in ceremony. "We will hold a meeting on this matter tonight and also decide on the possible Exco line-up," he said.

The three-party coalition, on Tuesday, had submitted the names of three candidates -- one each from DAP, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Pas -- to Sultan Azlan Shah of Perak for consideration for appointment as Mentri besar.

Apart from Mohammad Nizar and Ngeh, state PKR treasurer and Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi was also included in the list. In the March 8 general election, DAP secured the highest number of state seats with 18, followed by PKR with seven and Pas with six in the 59-seat state assembly.

No comments: